1

 

I often hear from folks who notice scalp pain, tenderness, aching, or flaking along with their hair loss. Recently I heard from a woman who said in part: “my scalp literally aches. It’s like a dull pain that is there all of the time. Sometimes it almost feels like it’s throbbing. Sometimes it’s red and pink and sometimes it isn’t. It feels angry but it doesn’t always look angry. And I’ve been having a lot more hair loss than what is normal for me – so much that I consider it alarming. I don’t know if the scalp issue is causing the hair loss or the other way around but both things concern me.”

There is a lot of debate about whether the scalp issues and the shedding is connected. Some will tell you that the scalp issues are a reaction to the severe hair fall out. Others feel that one is literally causing the other. In the following article, I’ll discuss some theories on why this happens.How to get rid of the Hair Loss

Scalp Issues With Hair Loss Due To Inflammation: I am certainly not a medical expert but in my observation and experience, many hair loss issues seem to go hand in hand with scalp issues because they cause inflammation. Examples are hair loss conditions like telogen effluvium (TE) and alopecia areata (AA) where many more hair follicles than normal go into the “resting” phase all at once. This causes a lot of inflammation which can sometimes literally be felt in the form of burning, itching, tingling, or aching.

You may have heard or read about “burning scalp syndrome” as it relates to hair loss. Some people believe that this is psychological but I do not believe this for a second. In my experience and opinion, this pain is very real and is certainly not all in your head. Another phrase that you may have heard or read is “substance P.” Some believe that this is a substance that might be released during times of severe hair loss that causes the burning or aching sensation with some discomfort.

Scalp Issues Relating To Androgens Or Excess Sebum: Another possibility in this situation is androgens or excess sebum (and / or the sensitivity to the same.) In hair loss conditions like AGA or genetic thinning, people become overly sensitive to scalp substances like androgens and sebum and the response to this is sometimes issues of (or pain in) the scalp. In these type of issues, you sometimes see flaking, redness, or dandruff also. You can also sometimes (but not always) notice that your hair is a bit more oily or greasy.

Other Things To Consider: Finally, there are medical issues that effect your scalp such as thyroid issues, autoimmune issues, yeast issues, bacterial issues of the scalp, or things like ring worm. These types of things sometimes include hair fall, but not always.Hair Loss Protocol by Jared Gates

In my experience, often figuring out which issue you have involves taking a look at the circumstances surrounding the onset of your shedding and scalp changes as well as examining the state of your hair and scalp. There are some treatments that can provide some relief but how well they work depends on matching the appropriate treatment with the cause of your scalp pain and loss.

How do I know all of this? Because I lived it. In my quest to end my hair loss, I looked at my shedding triggers, my iron, my thyroid, my adrenals, my hormones, and my scalp’s health. It was a long, hard, frustrating journey which all but wrecked my self esteem but I finally found something that helped quite a bit.What is DHT?

